The Ivy League

Formed in 1953, the Ivy League is an athletic conference between eight of the oldest private universities in New England. There is a perception of prestige among these institutions, and many of them regularly feature towards the top of ranking tables.

The Ivy League universities are:

  • Brown University
  • Columbia University
  • Cornell University
  • Dartmouth College
  • Harvard University
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • Princeton University
  • Yale University

Some of the Ivies are more competitive for admission than the universities of Oxford or Cambridge. The Ivy League is not synonymous with the Russell Group, and there are lots of other equally well-respected and prestigious universities in the USA.

Ivy League institutions might not be centres of excellence in your field.