University of St Andrews

The Fulbright University of St Andrews Award covers research degrees in Arts or Science, including PhDs (up to three years), MPhils and MSc by Research degrees.

Founded in the 15th century, the University of St Andrews is Scotland’s first university and the third oldest in the English-speaking world. Teaching began in the community of St Andrews on the east coast of Scotland in 1410 and the University was formally constituted by the issuance of a Papal Bull in 1413.

  • The university is now one of Europe’s most research-intensive seats of learning – over a quarter of its turnover comes from research grants and contracts.
  • It is one of the top-rated universities in Europe for research, teaching quality and student satisfaction and is consistently ranked among the UK’s top five in leading independent league tables produced by The Sunday Times and The TimesThe Guardian and The Complete University Guide.
  • Its international reputation for delivering high quality teaching and research and student satisfaction make it one of the most sought-after destinations for prospective students from the UK, Europe and overseas.
  • It is Scotland’s most international university – a third of the student body is from outside of the UK.
  • The university enjoys a 1:12 academic staff to student ratio, ranks among the top five in the UK for student satisfaction and maintains one of the strongest records in Europe for teaching quality, academic excellence and student support.

Grant amount

Full tuition waiver

$1500 travel stipend 

Living stipend: £18,622 for 2023-2024

The living stipend is intended as a contribution towards general maintenance costs towards the first year in the UK.

In the UK, master's degrees are typically one-year programmes (full-time) and PhDs are three-year programmes (full-time).

Visit our page on Postgraduate Scholarships to the UK

for information on how to apply and more.

See other Postgraduate Awards to the UK: