University of Manchester

The Fulbright University of Manchester Award covers the first year of any master's degree offered by the University, except the MBA programme.

Manchester was the birthplace of the Industrial Revolution and continues to play host to innovation and enterprise. Established in 1824, the origins of The University of Manchester are entwined with the history of the city and the region.

As the largest single-site university in the UK, with the biggest student community, The University of Manchester welcomes more international students than any other institution.

The University of Manchester is:

  • Ranked 6th in the UK, and 29th in the world (2019 QS rankings)
  • Ranked as having 83% of its research deemed 'world-leading' or 'internationally excellent' (Research Excellence Framework 2014)
  • The most targeted university by UK graduate employers (High Fliers Research 2018)
  • Currently home to 2 Nobel Prize winners, and has a total of 25 winners among current and former staff and students

A number of important firsts took place at The University of Manchester. These include:

  • Ernest Rutherford first splitting the atom
  • Arthur Lewis becoming Britain’s first black professor
  • Christabel Pankhurst being first woman to graduate from the University in law
  • Nobel Prize winners Andre Geim and Kostya Novoselov isolating graphene for the first time

Grant amount

Full tuition waiver

£19,027 living stipend

$1500 travel stipend

The living stipend is intended as a contribution towards general maintenance costs towards the first year in the UK.

In the UK, master's degrees are typically one-year programmes (full-time) and PhDs are three-year programmes (full-time).

Visit our page on Postgraduate Scholarships to the UK

for information on how to apply and more.

See other Postgraduate Awards to the UK: