London School of Economics and Political Science

The Fulbright London School of Economics and Political Science Award covers the first year of any master's degree programme offered by the university.

The London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) is one of the foremost social science universities in the world.

LSE was founded in 1895 by four Fabian Society members – Beatrice and Sidney Webb, George Bernard Shaw and Graham Wallace – following a £20,000 bequest to be used “for the betterment of society”.

The School opened on 10 October 1895 in two rooms near the Strand. About 200 students between the ages of 18 and 70 enrolled. Today, LSE has 11,000 students from 160 countries on a constantly evolving campus in the centre of London. 

In 2015-16 QS World University Rankings rated LSE second in the world for the social sciences.

Grant amount

  • Full tuition waiver
  • £14,600

This is intended as a contribution towards general maintenance costs towards the first year in the UK.

In the UK, master's degrees are typically one-year programmes (full-time).