The US-UK Fulbright Programme has had a number of alumni who have gone on to be leaders in the arts, science, business and government. 

They include:

Notable British alumni

  • William Campbell - winner of the Nobel Prize for Physiology 2015
  • Sir David Cannadine - historian and President of the British Academy
  • Siobhan Davies - choreographer
  • Baroness Deech - British academic, lawyer, bioethicist and politician sitting as a cross-bench peer in the Lords.
  • Lord Higgins - former Conservative MP and Financial Secretary to the Treasury 1972-74. Commonwealth Games silver medallist winner for England.
  • Peter Higgs - winner of the Nobel Prize for Physics 2013.
  • Mary Hockaday - Head of the BBC World Service
  • Sir Ian Kennedy - Inaugural Chair, Independent Parliamentary Standards Committee and BBC's Reith lecturer in 1980.
  • Simon Lewis - Chief executive of the Association for Financial Markets in Europe and first press secretary to HM the Queen
  • Lord Maclennan - founder member of the SDP (Social Democrat party), Liberal Democrat life peer.
  • Greg Marsh - entrepreneur and founder of Onefinestay.
  • Baroness Onora O’Neill - Philosopher, Reith lecturer 2002. Winner Holberg Prize 2017.
  • Ian Rankin - crime writer
  • Sir Rex Richards - Vice-Chancellor, Oxford University 1977-87
  • Lord Richard Rogers - architect
  • Charles Roxburgh - Second Permanent Secretary at Her Majesty's Treasury.
  • Kevin Sneader - Global Managing Partner, McKinsey
  • Will Straw - Associate Director of the Institute for Public Policy Research.
  • Susanna White - film director
  • Baroness Shirley Williams - politician


"One of the elements of leadership is audacity: a presumption that gives someone the confidence to offer their leadership. Scholarship programmes like Fulbright have a role in fostering that sense of responsibility." - Greg Marsh, entrepreneur, founder of onefinestay, Fulbright alumnus (2004-05)

Notable American alumni

  • Aaron Copland - Composer
  • John Hope Franklin - Historian
  • Milton Friedman – winner of the Nobel Prize for Economics 1976 and advisor to President Ronald Reagan and Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher
  • Hanna Gray - President, Chicago University. First woman in the US to hold the full presidency at a major university
  • Meg Greenfield - Influential editorial writer for the Washington Post
  • Robert Haas - Poet Laureate of the United States, 1995 -1997
  • Joseph Heller - Novelist
  • Dana Ivey - Actor
  • Charles Jencks - Architect
  • Stacy Keach - Actor
  • John Lithgow - Actor
  • Alan Pifer - President, Carnegie Foundation 1967-82
  • Sylvia Plath - Poet
  • John Rawls - Philosopher
  • Benjamin Schwarz - Editor of the Atlantic magazine
  • Joseph Stiglitz - winner of the Nobel Prize for Economics, 2001
  • Eudora Welty - Novelist and Pulitzer Prize winner


“I’ve felt honoured for the last 40 plus years, simply by being called a Fulbright scholar, ever since 1967 when the Fulbright Commission sent me over to London, to study for two years, as it turned out, at LAMDA. A fantastic experience.” – John Lithgow, actor, Fulbright alumnus (1967)